Another reason to home educate

If I send my kids to school then someone will inevitably inform my kids that Brussels sprouts are not delicious and to be begged for and traded for. 😉

My Brussels sprouts did nothing but unfold and make flowers. Either climate change is to blame (when isn't it) or apparently they like the soil most firm around their roots. The last of the cabbages too you can see to the left here have also sent up a spike of flowers.

My Brussels sprouts did nothing but unfold and make flowers. Either climate change is to blame (when isn’t it) or apparently they like the soil most firm around their roots. The last of the cabbages too you can see to the left here have also sent up a spike of flowers.

At the moment I am content to have kids that squabble over not only Brussels sprouts but the ones that have bolted to flower! Yep, broccoli florets as such, raw from the garden. 🙂

It's a family affair!

It’s a family affair!

It’s helping me get a lot of work done in the garden.

I can assure you they did NOT inherit their love of brassicas from me!

I can assure you they did NOT inherit their love of brassicas from me!

Jasper and Allegra haul tiles for sprouts. They stack pots for sprouts. They would do anything for sprouts! 😀

Green trees I now love (or purple) and I adore sauerkraut but this is a new love. Brussels sprouts and I are not on speaking terms (although I did try 1 floret).

“Green trees” I now enjoy (or purple) and I newly adore sauerkraut. Brussels sprouts and I are however, not on speaking terms (although I did try 1 floret).

Here’s to kids eating fresh greens. 🙂

6 thoughts on “Another reason to home educate

  1. Ferment those suckers. I remember reading something about how they need a lot of cold weather, maybe you planted them at the wrong time? Story of my life 😉

Leave a comment