Hi there. Rabid Little Hippy here. I was thinking today that I would like to share some more of my kids forays in the garden with you all and figured what better way to do it than to give them their own blog. πŸ™‚ As the kids get older I will be able to palm off this blog onto them but until they actually learn to read and write (and type) Β it might be up to me I think. πŸ˜‰

Yesterday the kids pretty much just played in the garden, chasing chooks, digging dirt Β and Orik decided he was a dab hand with a spade too. I Allegra wandered around sprinkling dirt everywhere and told us she was planting seeds. I MUST get that girl a garden bed. Jasper has recently received 2 drills with which he can play. Neither of them are power drills. One is an old drill similar in use to a manual egg beater and the other is an older style with a big crank handle. So far our grass has had some serious aeration done to it. πŸ˜‰

Today has been a digging day for them too. The older 2 both adore getting stuck into dirt piles with their digger trucks and the amount of dirt they bring in.

Harvesting walnuts and chestnuts. My kids are learning the art of foraging.

Harvesting walnuts and chestnuts at a friends property about 13 k’s away. My kids are learning the art of foraging. And of harvesting their own food. Now to get them both a small G-clamp for nut-cracking purposes so I am not at the mercy of their walnut addiction.

Well, this is just in the nature of an introduction post, more so I can get the blog set up than anything else. As we get stuck into building our Food Forest Garden the kids will be heavily involved and I will take lots of photos ,I promise. πŸ™‚

See you later, Alligator.

2 thoughts on “

  1. LOVE this! What a great idea and I can’t help but think that you will influence other parents to teach their kids, too. Way to go, rabid! Have you thought about giving them each a hammer and a board for cracking the nuts? Show them how to tap ‘gently’ so the nut isn’t smashed to smithereens; they will not only have fun, they will be started on the road to carpentry . . . on the other hand, two little ones with hammers . . . maybe the vise is safer πŸ™‚ ~ Linne

Leave a comment