FernGully: The Last Rainforest.

“Humans can’t feel anything. They’re numb from the brain down.” Robin Williams – Batty FernGully: The Last Rainforest

I was thinking through the films I’d watched as a kid and that I could remember, I suddenly thought about FernGully: The Last Rainforest. I remember watching this film, with my friend April I think. I know I was keen to watch it as I was a big fan of Christian Slater at the time (no laughing now) who is the voice of Pips but I don’t think the film made much environmental impact on me at the time. Well, I watched it today with the kids. I had forgotten about Christian Slater voicing for Pips until I heard him speak (ok, it was a major crush I had back 20 years ago ok 😉 ) but then I heard Batty speak and lo and behold, Robin Williams! Not quite at the levels of brilliance as he was as the Genie in Aladdin but still brilliant none the less. I had a few giggles over jokes the kids didn’t get. And of course, what other actor could play evil so well as the inestimable Tim Curry as Hexxus.

<iframe width=”420″ height=”315″ src=”http://www.youtube.com/embed/ccURwir7C_o&#8221; frameborder=”0″ allowfullscreen>

Watching it again after so many years was wonderful but it was never a huge favourite so I hadn’t remembered much of the storyline. I found it a little lacking but for kids I’m sure they loved it. It’s definitely aimed at kids older than mine but I know Jasper and Allegra enjoyed it even if it left Jasper full of lots more questions. He’s like that. Allegra would be happy just to plant a garden like FernGully. 🙂

 

I wish there were a lot more kids films dealing with environmental issues to be honest.

Leave a Reply

