A photography lesson and some French

We’re toddling along dabbling in some homeschooling at the moment. I love the concept of homeschooling and have total respect for those that do. Particularly those that homeschool several children. It’s impressive.

Either way, we’re pretty informal about everything at this point, probably informal enough to say I’m dabbling, nothing more. On the days we do have a lesson, officially or like today, the kids are so much more focused and listen so much better too. Today, after being asked by Linne to take a photo of a Jap pumpkin to show her, I thought I’d give Jasper a quick photography lesson. I’m one of the worst photographers I know so this is totally a case of blind leading the blind. I’ve heard of the rule of thirds but beyond that I’m lost. So after quickly telling Jas about the rule of thirds and then explaining what a third was (oh yeah, bright Mummy moment that) I let him loose on the pumpkins with my iPhone. Here are the results.

This is the photo I took as a demo for Jasper.

3 Jap pumpkins with a large navel orange on top and a butternut lying in front.

3 Jap pumpkins with a large navel orange on top and a butternut lying in front.

And now for Jasper’s photos.

IMG_6487

I think he got the thirds thing better than I did!

IMG_6486

IMG_6488

IMG_6489

IMG_6490

IMG_6491

IMG_6492

IMG_6493

IMG_6494

IMG_6495

IMG_6496

IMG_6497

IMG_6498

IMG_6502

Allegra's "fave'it punkum"

Allegra’s “fave’it punkum”

IMG_6504

IMG_6505

IMG_6506

IMG_6507

IMG_6508

Once we find our old digital camera we might have more luck. And he is only 4 after all. πŸ™‚

 

As for French, Jasper in formed me that he wanted to speak French. There’s an episode of Peppa Pig, a kids show, where Delphine Donkey comes to stay from France. This set Jasper off and he’s been asking questions about French and German and all sorts. Martin’s mother originates from Germany although she’s lived in England for the majority of her life but the kids call her Omi. We’ve done some counting in German, Italian and French as well as a few other phrases over time. I learned some Italian in Primary school and did a year in Uni too and I did a course in German a few years back too so I have some knowledge of both languages (just a little) but my French is limited to a very small handful of phrases so out came iTranslate app on the iPhone. I asked Jas what he wanted to learn to say. His response was gold. πŸ˜€

I’m hungry.

πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

J’ai faim. And he remembers. πŸ™‚

Marie, you would be so proud. πŸ™‚

One thought on “A photography lesson and some French

  1. I did 3 years of tortured French (got me out of physical education πŸ˜‰ ) and all I remember is “Ferme la bouche”, “Le Petit cochon”, “mal a la tete” (I mal a la tete my poor French teacher πŸ˜‰ ) and my favourite word in French that must ALWAYS be yelled…”MERDE”! πŸ˜‰ All undoubtably spelled wrong but at least you don’t have to hear me pronounce them even worse than I spell them. Jas did a great job with the rule of thirds and of taking a photo of mums knees πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

