I’ve been planning a windowsill garden for a while now but after finally voicing it to Martin and sourcing the few parts needed, we got the ball rolling.

Helping Mummy with her sewing when I should have been in bed a long time ago

Helping Mummy with sewing when I should have been in bed ages ago

I’ve seen on Pinterest and various permaculture sites and videos the use of polypipe with holes cut to rest pots into. I figure that these would work wonderfully inside as long as the pipe was sealed off watertight at the end, easily done with some plumbers glue. Martin sawed the pipe to length and with the help of Jasper, glued on the ends but in the chaos of keeping the glue safe the ends stuck fast… 5mm too far out! It doesn’t fit. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Busted!

Busted! And stuck.

I figured it was worthwhile going ahead with the rest of the project none the less and bought the necessary pots. I know, but I didn’t have any large/small enough. All the recycled pots I have are either too big or too small to work so needs must. I also bought some seeds and potting mix and then, with the kids this morning we filled the pots, used some sowing labels I had and we planted out 9 pots with herbs and the like.

Lots of sweet basil

Lots of sweet basil

We’ve got 2 pots of sweet basil, 2 of parsley (continental or broad leaf and curly leaf), 2 pots of chives plus 2 little animal pots each with a few chive seeds planted to grow chive hair, 1 pot of coriander, 1 of Heartsease or Johnny Jump Ups, the flowers of which can be used in salads and 1 pot with 3 sweet pea in there. I have no idea how the sweet pea will go in a pot or inside but I love the idea of them vining up across my kitchen window and throwing their delicious perfume around the room. ๐Ÿ™‚

My first sweet pea. I imagine them twining across the kitchen window, scenting my kitchen with their fragrance. We'll see how they go.

My first sweet pea. I imagine them twining across the kitchen window, scenting my kitchen with their fragrance. We’ll see how they go.

Rocket, shooting up like its namesake. It amuses the kids that it turns towards the sun all the time and I turn the pot frequently to give them strength in their stems.

Rocket, shooting up like its namesake. It amuses the kids that it turns towards the sun all the time and I turn the pot frequently to give them strength in their stems.

My first coriander

My first coriander

Heartsease or Johnny Jump ups peeping through.

Heartsease or Johnny Jump ups peeping through.

I also planted some calendula in a strawberry container to show the kids how it will work as a mini greenhouse. They’re destined to be squeezed in somehow in the solanaceaeย bed (tomatoes, capsicums, chillies, eggplants) which also has some parsley, chives and a few extra celery planted in there. ๐Ÿ™‚

Marigolds, dancing to face the sun

Marigolds, dancing to face the sun

The pots all currently sit in those small take away dishes from the supermarket deli in which I’ve poured water as well as spraying the tops lightly. We’ve been eagerly watching for then enjoying germination. ๐Ÿ˜€

Solar torch and some seeds I saved from a peach that I'm hoping will sprout and the pots and 2 animal hair pots.

Solar torch and some seeds I saved from a peach (in the ziplock bag) that I’m hoping will sprout and the pots and 2 animal pots.

And the remaining pots of seeds. Looking forward to getting their aquaponic planter working.

And the remaining pots of seeds. Looking forward to getting their aquaponic planter working.

Sorry for the crappy photos but I wanted to share what we had been up to.

3 thoughts on “

  1. Seeds ahoy hoppers! Not entirely sure that you aren’t going to regret those sweet peas but hopefully the fragrance will outweight them sitting on the sofa with you eating your popcorn and watching television whilst entangling your hair ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

