Sew what

As part of our self sufficiency journey, learning to insource and home education, not to mention because she wanted to learn how, Allegra has been learning to sew. She received this kit for Christmas and has been on my case since then for me to show her what to do.

With some unpicking and a little help from me she all but completed this herself.

Starting off

Starting off

The thread is so long.

The thread is so long.

Nearly completed the first bit.

Feet sewn in and breast feathers on.

Nearly ready to add in the wings.

Nearly ready to add in the wings.

First wing finished

First wing finished

The finished product.

The finished product. And a very proud little girl who has completed her first sewing project.

7 thoughts on “Sew what

    • I learned to sew at a young age as my mum and both grandmothers were sewers. My Nanna would have been most proud of her. I know I was having a go sewing clothes for my barbies both by hand and on the machine when mum would let me and although Barbie and her friends are unwelcome here I love the idea of Allegra learning to sew young too. She’s better than I was at her age and asking for more to sew too. She wants me to teach her to knit as well. Eek!

      • I sewed heaps from childhood till my kids were babies then stopped – I guess if I had had girls I might have carried on. Would like to start again though. She has done beautifully here πŸ™‚ I taught my boys to knit…and darn!! Good on you, really nice to see πŸ™‚

  1. I am with Wendy…I will be sending all of my failed sewing attempts over so that Allegra can finish them for me ;). Gorgeous owl, gorgeous sewing and what a clever little hopper πŸ™‚

  2. Awesome, Allegra (and I could equally say “Awesome Allegra!”) πŸ™‚ My Mum started me on hand-stitching by age two; she took the Quaker oats box, punched holes around the outlines of the man and his hat, then gave me yarn threaded through a yarn needle (blunt point!) and had me sew twice around (uneven number of holes) to complete the outline. By Age nine, I was learning to sew cloth, embroider (she gave me my first piece a couple of years ago; so me, it’s not quite finished . . .), knit and crochet. I didn’t do much of any of those in my teen years, except a bit of machine sewing, but once I was expecting my first son, at age 21, I took up everything again. To me, those were just things mothers did! My great-grandmother (Mum’s maternal grandmother) taught my oldest uncle to knit; it’s a tradition in sea-faring Norske families, or was. The men, out at sea for months and needing socks, ganseys, tuques, mitts, etc., had a hobby that didn’t take up much room, was easy to do and filled a need. Talk about ‘insourcing’!

    I still love to hand-stitch, but haven’t done any since last summer when I was at my Aunty’s so much. I still have ankle-length dresses I stitched by hand, but can’t find the fully lined ankle-length cloak I made, top-stitched details and all, entirely by hand. I’ve often wondered where it ended up . . .

    My oldest grand-daughter begged to learn hand-sewing before she was five and her Mum taught her enough to get started with. She made headbands for her little friends and a doll quilt by the time she was five. When she was seven, she stitched a piece of knit material together to make a skirt with an elastic waist and then she set in, by hand, a zipper! (with no help from anyone). The hem was very uneven, but she wore it often anyway. I was pretty impressed by the zipper, I can tell you! I still don’t much care for putting them in.

    I share those stories so you will see that Allegra won’t have any difficulty learning the early skills. I’m so glad to hear she is asking to learn; that’s the main bit, really, just wanting to know.

    Again, great going, Allegra! Learning those skills will not only be useful to you, but give you plenty of joy and satisfaction through all your life. ~ Linne

    • I read this out to Allegra and she was squealing in delight. I then realised she read this as a promise for what I was showing her! Oops. πŸ˜‰ Guess I’d better get started. I think some finger knitting seems a good place to start.

  3. How amazing are these little things πŸ™‚ my little people got some for Christmas as well and LOVE them they had a blast and Miss Lilly was over the moon with a little elephant she got to make herself πŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

