What does a pint sized permy lunch look like?

Ever wondered what a little permy person eats for lunch?Β A healthy dose of bacteria and yeast in this house and as homemade or homegrown as we can make it. πŸ˜€

First course consists of homemade sauerkraut, homemade homegrown organic lacto fermented onions, homemade sauer-carrots (my own experiment), homemade farmhouse cheddar cheese, black olives (supermarket purchased), 2 mushrooms (supermarket) on Jasper’s plate and a slice of ham (also supermarket).

IMG_8236For an accompanying beverage there is homemade kombucha made with organic fair-trade BOP (broken orange pekoe) tea leavesΒ (they no longer have the same listing on the website – this is the closest they offerΒ or there are organic and fair trade teabags here) and white sugar (the sugar is eaten by the kombucha scoby so little if any remains after the fermenting period is finished) and then second fermented with orange juice. the cups are stainless steel as are the straws.

IMG_8238

For dessert we have homemade (just about) gluten-free, processed sugar-free biscuits made with homemade organic peanut butter, home pressure canned organic chick peas, organic sultanasΒ instead of chocolate chips, raw honey and remaining ingredients from the supermarket (including baking powder that contains gluten) and the biscuits will be accompanied by some home dehydrated mango pieces.

Just a little. They were caught pilfering from the jar last week.

Just a little. They were caught pilfering from the jar last week.

I think we’ve done pretty well for healthy, tasty, not to mention nutritious food. πŸ™‚

 

 

12 thoughts on “What does a pint sized permy lunch look like?

  1. I’m thinking how I can shrink myself into a disguised pint-size permie . . . but I’m sure my accent would give me away. πŸ˜‰ That sounds like an awesome lunch.

    don’t know if cream of tartar has anything not good in it, but I’ve used it for years, along with soured milk (or just adding lemon juice to whatever liquid ingredient) as leavening instead of baking powder. Then you wouldn’t have the gluten (so far as I know now, anyway).

    Love those stainless steel cups and straws, too. Very nice! Those permies are getting a great start!

    • The minute amount of gluten is not an issue for us and I’ve got GF baking powder which I can also make in Thermy but I figured waste not want not and I’m using up the last of the container. πŸ™‚
      Welcome for lunch any time, disguised and accented or not. πŸ˜‰ Just let me know at least 2 weeks before you’re due to arrive so I can set another batch of the lacto fermented onions and various krauts on the go. πŸ™‚

  2. Pingback: A new post over at Pint Sized Permies | rabidlittlehippy

  3. That’s incredibly good food you are making there….I am very impressed!! I have barely tried fermenting yet but intend to do so, Jesse this is really nice not to see a pink cupcake in sight πŸ™‚

    • My kids might well disagree with you about the pink cupcakes. πŸ˜‰
      Fermenting is actually mega-easy I think. Start with lacto fermented onions as they are the all time easiest ferment I’ve made. And also the ultimate in taste if you like pickled onions. The recipe uses sliced onions which are simple with a mandolin slicer too. πŸ™‚

      • Lol, I am sure they would! And I like cupcakes myself but I have a loathing of food colourings etc and I see my own granddaughter eating them as her Mum makes heaps and I just shudder, but not my call of course – Nana just keeps her gob shut and smiles πŸ™‚

        Yes, it looks to be easy. What were the carrots like that you tried? I saw a recipe the other day and thought I would like to try that. As pickled onions are on the menu alot here that does sound a good start.

        • The carrots are soft like just cooked through and definitely easier to digest. I added some to a casserole the other week and the taste was brilliant. The smell is a little off putting for me though. I plan to make sauerslaw sometime though with the onions, cabbage and carrots all in 1. With lacto fermented mayonnaise mixed through it will be a killer fermented slaw!
          Well done Nana! I tend to get lectures about how my kids can’t cope with sugar as they never have it! 😦 Even when they had it all the time they still couldn’t cope with it which is proof enough for me.
          What about using raspberries to colour the cupcakes pink? They’ll taste superb too. White chocolate and raspberry muffins are divine (from a previous life πŸ˜‰ )

  4. I am drooling thinking about pikelets with butter and golden syrup…”EMMM!” Love this collection of ferments and tastes. Your kids are SO lucky to be getting an amazing head start on nutrition. Most of us were raised on processed rubbish but I was lucky, mum couldn’t afford the processed stuff so we had to eat home made food πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

