Most kids make snails…

Jasper and Allegra got a packet of plasticine with which to play the other day.

In black

In black

And in red

And in red

Yes, I know they look somewhat like colourful dog poos but this is the creativity of Jasper then imitated by Allegra.

Allegra's selection of favourite colours

Allegra’s selection of favourite colours

Most kids make snails from plasticine but not my kids. They make ammonites instead. 😀

And the rest of the plasticine packet. A whole family of ammonites.

And the rest of the plasticine packet. A whole family of ammonites.

If you don’t know what an ammonite is, start thinking of  prehistoric sea-snail squid thingies. 😉

An Ammonite fossil.

I converted a few of their ammonites into trilobites which Jas loved. Trilobites are from well before the dinosaurs, some 500 million years ago. No photos of my creative works here I’m afraid.

A trilobite.

I love when kids think outside the box. 😀

9 thoughts on “Most kids make snails…

  1. Pingback: A new post over at The Pint Sized Permies | rabidlittlehippy

  2. I didn’t realize you had this blog! What fun. Very interesting about the “snails”. When I used to have time for weaving and the fiber arts, I was very interested in naturally occurring patterns and sequences, such as the Golden Rectangle and the Fibonacci series. Seems that perhaps these things are instinctive to kids.

  3. cool, I’m lucky enough to have a 3D printer at work and I printed out some copies of these two critters and made plaster casts of the trilobyte. They are fascinating creatures.

    • Funnily enough, given the standard fascination of 4 and 6yo’s for all things poop, neither of them mentioned it. They were Ammonites all the way! and I’m a legend when it comes to making trilobites, just so you know. 😉

  4. Fibonacci sequences! One of my favourite things! I agree with you; it’s wonderful when kids think outside the box. I wish we allowed more of that in the world. ~ Linne

Leave a Reply

